Skip to content

Reader-supported. We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Learn more

Buying Guides

Percussion Plus Drum Sets: Is It a Good Brand and What Can You Buy?

Percussion Plus is an entry-level student drum brand: here is what it sells, what its 5-piece drum set includes on paper and how it compares with rivals.

A foot in a sneaker pressing a bass drum pedal
Photo: Pexels

PercussionDream is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page we may earn an affiliate commission, at no extra cost to you. How this works

Percussion Plus is a name that turns up on school band lists, in music shops and on second-hand listings, usually on low-cost drum sets and student percussion gear. People searching for it mostly want to know two things: is it a good brand, and is one of its drum sets worth buying?

This guide sets out what we could verify about the brand and its drum sets. One thing to be clear about first: this is not a hands-on review. We have not played or tested any Percussion Plus drum set. What follows is based on the brand’s US distributor catalogue and a retailer’s product listing, both read on 9 October 2026, and on general drum knowledge.

What Percussion Plus sells

Percussion Plus is a student line. A 2017 trade announcement named the music publisher and distributor Hal Leonard as its US distributor and described the range as aimed at students and the education market. That matches what the distributor’s catalogue showed when we checked.

Category What was listed on 9 October 2026 Price band that day
Junior drum sets 3-piece junior sets with cymbal and throne, and a 3-piece mini set About one hundred and sixty to two hundred dollars
Bell kits 32-note bell sets for school band, with bag and mallets About one hundred and eighty to two hundred and sixty dollars
Stands Snare, cymbal, boom and hi-hat stands About forty-five to sixty dollars each
Thrones and pedals Junior and double-braced thrones, a bass drum pedal About fifty-five to sixty-five dollars each
Small items Cowbells, junior sticks, drum key, bell mallets A few dollars to about fifteen dollars

Prices are rounded from the distributor’s own catalogue on the date shown. Shop prices may differ, and they change.

The catalogue also showed one item under snare drums. We did not confirm which model it was, so check the catalogue or a dealer if a Percussion Plus snare drum is what you are after.

The Percussion Plus 5-piece drum set

The drum set most people mean is the full-size 5-piece, sold under model numbers beginning PP4100. We did not see it in the distributor’s catalogue on the day we checked. One US retailer still listed it, marked as sold out. These are the specifications from that listing.

Part Percussion Plus PP4100 (retailer listing)
Bass drum 22 in across, 16 in deep
Rack toms 10 in and 12 in across, 7 in and 8 in deep
Floor tom 16 in across, 14 in deep
Snare drum 14 in across, 5.5 in deep, described as a matching wood snare
Shells Poplar
Heads Remo
Included Described as a complete outfit with cymbals and hardware
Not stated in the listing Cymbal sizes, and whether a throne and sticks are in the box

The listing describes the toms as “quick-size”, meaning they are shallower than usual. Shallow toms can be mounted lower, which the listing says makes the kit more comfortable for younger players.

If you find one for sale, confirm exactly what is in the box. The listing we read did not spell out the cymbals or mention a throne.

Is Percussion Plus a good brand?

It depends what you are asking of it. Here is an honest reading of the evidence.

What the specifications say. The 5-piece kit uses poplar shells in standard sizes with name-brand heads, and it is sold complete. That is the same recipe as other beginner kits from larger drum makers. Nothing on the specification sheet is a warning sign.

What the positioning says. The brand is sold to students and schools, and much of its range is stands, bell kits and junior sets. It is not presented as a line for gigging or recording. Judge it as a starter brand, and it is in the right place.

What we cannot tell you. We have not played one, so we cannot say how the drums sound, how well the hardware holds its position, or how the cymbals compare. No specification sheet answers those questions.

For a beginner on a tight budget, a complete Percussion Plus kit is a reasonable thing to consider, particularly at a good price or second-hand. For a player who already knows they are committed, a kit from a larger drum maker is usually easier to find and easier to resell.

How much does a Percussion Plus drum set cost?

On 9 October 2026, the one retailer listing we found for the 5-piece PP4100 showed a price of about four hundred and twenty dollars, with the kit sold out. The junior 3-piece sets in the distributor’s catalogue were about two hundred dollars, and the 3-piece mini set about one hundred and sixty.

For comparison, complete 5-piece beginner kits from two larger drum makers were listed on Amazon.com that day at around seven hundred dollars. On those figures, a Percussion Plus kit costs clearly less, which is the main case for it. Prices change, so check current listings.

Where to buy one

Percussion Plus is sold through music retailers and school music dealers, not through every large online store. When we searched Amazon.com on 9 October 2026, no Percussion Plus drum sets came up. Availability of the full-size kit looked thin. If you want one new, phone a local music shop and ask whether they can order it.

Buying a used Percussion Plus kit

Because these are common first kits, they come up second-hand. A used starter kit can be very good value if you check it properly.

  • Shells: look inside each drum for cracks or layers coming apart.
  • Edges: the rim of each shell should be even, with no dents or flat spots.
  • Finish: check that the wrap is not lifting at the seam.
  • Hardware: open and lock every stand. Check the pedal moves freely and the tom holder grips.
  • Cymbals: look for cracks at the edge and around the centre hole.
  • Completeness: make a list of what should be there and tick it off. Missing stands add up quickly.

Worn drum heads are not a problem. New heads are a cheap way to make any budget kit sound better.

How it compares on paper

This table sets the Percussion Plus 5-piece beside two complete beginner kits that we could verify on Amazon.com on the same day. It compares specifications only.

  Percussion Plus PP4100 Pearl Roadshow, Fusion Ludwig Accent Drive
Bass drum 22 x 16 in 20 x 16 in 22 x 16 in
Rack toms 10 x 7 and 12 x 8 in 10 x 7 and 12 x 8 in 10 x 8 and 12 x 9 in
Floor tom 16 x 14 in 14 x 14 in 16 x 16 in
Snare 14 x 5.5 in 14 x 5 in 14 x 6.5 in
Shells Poplar Poplar Poplar
Cymbals Included, sizes not stated 14 in hi-hats, 16 in crash/ride 13 in hi-hats, 16 in crash
Throne Not stated Included Included
Availability when checked Sold out at the retailer we found In stock on Amazon.com In stock on Amazon.com

On paper the three are close. The differences that matter in practice are price, what is in the box, and whether you can actually find one.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Expecting professional drums. This is a starter brand, priced as one.
  • Not checking what is in the box. Ask about cymbals, stands, pedal, throne and sticks.
  • Confusing the junior sets with the full-size kit. The 3-piece junior and mini sets are for small children.
  • Paying new prices for a used kit. Compare with what a complete new beginner kit costs today.
  • Judging a used kit by its old heads. Heads are cheap. Shells and hardware are what matter.
  • Skipping hearing protection. Any acoustic drum set is loud. See our guide to earplugs for musicians.

Comparable kits you can check on Amazon

Disclosure: the buttons below are affiliate links. If you buy through one of them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

We could not find Percussion Plus drum sets on Amazon.com, so these links are to comparable beginner kits from other makers. We chose them from their published specifications. We have not tested them ourselves. We checked each listing on 9 October 2026. Stock and prices change, so check the listing before you decide.

Compact complete 5-piece

Pearl Roadshow 5-Piece Complete Drum Set, Fusion sizes (RS505C)

Best for: Beginners who want a complete kit that takes up a little less room.

It comes with everything, including a throne, and its 20-inch bass drum keeps the kit compact.

  • 20 x 16 in bass drum, 14 x 5 in snare
  • 10 x 7 in and 12 x 8 in rack toms, 14 x 14 in floor tom
  • Stands, bass drum pedal and throne included
  • 16 in crash/ride and 14 in hi-hats, plus sticks and a stick bag

Keep in mind: It was listed at a higher price than the Percussion Plus kit. Check that “Fusion” is selected on the listing.

Check price on Amazon

Affiliate link — we may earn a commission.

Full-size complete 5-piece

Ludwig Accent Drive 5-Piece Complete Drum Set

Best for: Teens and adults who want the same 22-inch layout as the Percussion Plus kit.

Its sizes are the closest match to the PP4100, and the listing confirms cymbals, stands, pedal and throne.

  • 22 x 16 in bass drum, 6.5 x 14 in snare
  • 10 x 8 in and 12 x 9 in toms, 16 x 16 in floor tom
  • 13 in hi-hats and a 16 in crash
  • Double-braced cymbal and snare stands, hi-hat stand, pedal and throne included

Keep in mind: It was listed at a higher price than the Percussion Plus kit, and a 22-inch kit needs floor space.

Check price on Amazon

Affiliate link — we may earn a commission.

Junior kit

Pearl Roadshow Jr. 5-Piece Drum Set with Hardware and Cymbals

Best for: Children aged about 10 and under.

It is a full 5-piece layout in a child’s size, where the Percussion Plus junior sets are 3-piece.

  • 16 x 10 in bass drum, 12 x 4 in snare
  • 8 x 5 in and 10 x 5.5 in toms, 13 x 8 in floor tom
  • 13 in crash cymbal and 10 in hi-hats
  • Adjustable stands, chain-drive pedal, throne and sticks included

Keep in mind: It was listed at more than twice the price of the Percussion Plus junior sets.

Check price on Amazon

Affiliate link — we may earn a commission.

For a wider look at first kits, see our guide to the best beginner drum kits. If you are buying for a school band student, our guide to school percussion kits covers bell kits like the ones Percussion Plus makes.

Related reading: our guide to 4-piece vs 5-piece drum sets.

Frequently asked questions

Is Percussion Plus a good brand?

It is an entry-level brand aimed at students and schools. On paper its 5-piece kit matches other beginner kits, with poplar shells in standard sizes, and it costs less. We have not tested one, so we cannot comment on sound or durability.

Who distributes Percussion Plus drums?

A 2017 trade announcement named Hal Leonard as the US distributor, and the brand was listed in Hal Leonard’s catalogue when we checked on 9 October 2026.

How much is a Percussion Plus drum set?

On 9 October 2026, one retailer listed the 5-piece kit at about four hundred and twenty dollars, sold out. Junior 3-piece sets in the distributor’s catalogue were about two hundred dollars. Check current listings.

What sizes are the drums in the Percussion Plus 5-piece?

The retailer listing shows a 22 x 16 inch bass drum, 10 x 7 and 12 x 8 inch rack toms, a 16 x 14 inch floor tom and a 14 x 5.5 inch snare, all with poplar shells.

Is a Percussion Plus drum set good for beginners?

It is designed for beginners, and it is sold complete. It is a reasonable choice if you can find one at a good price. Confirm what is in the box, especially the cymbals and the throne.

Can you buy Percussion Plus on Amazon?

When we searched Amazon.com on 9 October 2026, no Percussion Plus drum sets were listed. The brand is sold mainly through music retailers and school music dealers.

Checklist before you buy

  • Is it the full-size 5-piece or a junior 3-piece set?
  • Is it in stock, or does it have to be ordered?
  • Which cymbals are included?
  • Are the stands, pedal and throne included?
  • For a used kit: are the shells, edges and hardware sound?
  • How does the price compare with a complete new kit from a larger maker?
  • Have I budgeted for hearing protection and sticks?

The bottom line

Percussion Plus is a student brand, and it should be judged as one. Its 5-piece drum set has the same basic specifications as better-known beginner kits and has been listed for a good deal less. What it lacks is availability. It was hard to find new on the day we checked, and it was not on Amazon.com at all.

If you can find one in stock at a good price, or a clean used one, it is a sensible first kit. If you cannot, a complete beginner kit from a larger maker will do the same job and be easier to buy, at a higher price. Either way, check what is in the box, and remember that we have looked at the specifications, not played the drums.